Rape Crimes & Allegations

Criminal Defense Lawyers in Norman, Oklahoma

Under Oklahoma law, rape is a form of sexual assault and represents what is often viewed to be the most serious of sex crimes. People accused of rape are often lambasted by their peers, trusted friends, society, and the media before the charges even become official. In order to protect themselves and see that justice is not deteriorated, experienced criminal defense representation must be retained.

At the Law Offices of Keith J. Nedwick, P.C., our clients can back their claims and bolster their chances with the tenacious and dedicated counsel of our Norman sex crime attorneys. We believe that our reputation for excellence, which we have built over 50+ years of combined legal experience, precedes us. To learn more about our law firm, or to get started on your case, call (866) 590-8173 today.

Rape Definitions in Oklahoma Law

Oklahoma considers rape to occur under several different circumstances, but only when the sexual acts involve vaginal or anal penetration. Oral penetration or other forms of sexual acts that are conducted without consent generally do not constitute rape but a lesser crime instead.

Rape may be charged if the alleged victim is:

  • Under the age of legal consent (16 in Oklahoma).
  • Mentally incapable to give consent at the time of sexual intercourse, including due to drugs or alcohol intoxication.
  • Forced to consent due to violence or intimidation.
  • Unconscious and the alleged offender is aware of their unconsciousness.
  • Coerced into sexual acts by someone impersonating their spouse.

The legal definition of rape in Oklahoma does not mention that a lack of consent before engaging in sexual intercourse constitutes rape. In other words, if the alleged victim says “no” but the alleged offender never uses coercion, violence, or intoxicants to eventually engage in sexual activities, rape has not occurred. This clear exemption in the law is often the groundwork of rape defense cases.

Penalties for Rape Convictions

Rape charges that cite any of the aforementioned factors will usually be charged as a first-degree felony in Oklahoma.

Penalties upon conviction of a first-degree penalty in Oklahoma can include:

  • Five years’ minimum sentence
  • Life imprisonment without parole
  • Capital punishment
  • Thousands in fines and restitution

Any person convicted of a serious sex crime in Oklahoma will also need to register to a sex offender list. In cases of violent sexual crimes, such as sexual assault and rape, the public can access the list and see the offenders and where they live. Employers, educational institutions, and landlords can also reject applications from registered sex offenders in certain circumstances. Registry usually lasts for 15 years but can be extended indefinitely by a judge.

When Your Future is On the Line, We Fight

You can rely on the teamwork approach we take here at the Law Offices of Keith J. Nedwick, P.C. to provide you with a sound and sturdy defense case against rape accusations. We are constantly thinking two steps ahead of the prosecution and reviewing your case from all angles in order to bring you closer to a beneficial case result, such as a dismissal, charge reduction, or not guilty verdict.

You can contact our Normal criminal defense lawyers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week – the moment you need help, just call (866) 590-8173!

  • “Came out with the Best Case Scenario”

    T.M.

  • “Keith Is the Greatest Attorney I Know”

    D.W.

  • “His Team of Professional Attorneys and Office Staff Are by Far the Best This State Has to Offer.”

    Anonymous

  • “I Was Extremely Pleased with Mr. Nedwick's Services”

    Anonymous

  • “Excellent Attorney”

    Anonymous

  • “Efficient, Caring, and Prepared”

    J.B.

  • “They Rolled Up Their Sleeves, Fought for Us, and Won!”

    C.G.

Our Practice Areas

Trust Your Case to a Top-Rated Norman & Surrounding Areas Attorney
  • Dismissed with costs to State. Aggravated Assault & Battery
  • Case was dismissed after 7 months probation Aggravated DUI
  • Case dismissed with costs to defendant. Assault & Battery
  • Case dismissed with costs to State. Assault & Battery
  • Charges never filed - case closed Assault and Battery
  • Charge amended to Misdemeanor Breaking and Enter Burglary
  • Both counts dismissed after 1 year probation Child Abuse
  • 10 year suspended sentence. Concealing Stolen Property
  • Ct. 1 and 3 – Dismissed at Disposition Docket Domestic Abuse & Assault
  • Case dismissed, protective order was not granted Domestic Violence

Our News

  • Can I Get Workers' Comp for an Injury Suffered on My Commute?
    Can I Get Workers' Comp for an Injury Suffered on My Commute? read more
  • Aggravated DUI in Oklahoma
    Aggravated DUI in Oklahoma read more
  • Workers’ Comp & Vacation
    Workers’ Comp & Vacation read more
  • Contested vs. Uncontested Divorce
    Contested vs. Uncontested Divorce read more
  • OK Governor Stitt Signs Bill to Make State Question 780 Retroactive
    OK Governor Stitt Signs Bill to Make State Question 780 Retroactive read more
  • 5 Dangers of Summer Driving
    5 Dangers of Summer Driving read more
  • Can I Get Charged with a DUI for “Sleeping It Off” in My Car?
    Can I Get Charged with a DUI for “Sleeping It Off” in My Car? read more
  • What Is the Expungement Process in Oklahoma?
    What Is the Expungement Process in Oklahoma? read more
  • What Is the Criminal Trial Process and How Long Does it Take?
    What Is the Criminal Trial Process and How Long Does it Take? read more