Aggravated DUI in Oklahoma

If you have been arrested for drunk driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or more, a first-time DUI conviction is punishable by a maximum one-year jail sentence and fines not exceeding $1,000, and administrative and criminal driver’s license suspension.

However, if your BAC was at least .15 percent at the time of the arrest, you could be charged with an “aggravated DUI.” Although having a high BAC will not elevate a misdemeanor charge to a felony offense, a conviction will result in additional penalties—on top of the standard punishment for a first DUI offense.

The following are the additional punishments for an aggravated DUI in Oklahoma:

  • A minimum 28-day stay in an alcohol in-patient treatment facility
  • After release from inpatient care, an aftercare probation period of up to one year
  • Periodic testing throughout aftercare probation
  • Community service of up to 480 hours
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on the defendant’s vehicle for at least 90 days

Keep in mind, these additional penalties only apply if you are convicted of aggravated DUI. If you obtain a deferred sentence, you will most likely not be required to serve additional aggravated DUI penalties. If you comply with routine alcohol testing or other requirements during your deferred sentence, you will not have a conviction on your criminal record.

If you have been charged with an aggravated DUI in Norman, contact the Law Offices of Keith J. Nedwick, P.C. today at (866) 590-8173 to request a free case review.

Categories: